Stem Cells: Astonishing Promises... But at What Cost?

Sunday, 01 April 2007
  • Print
  • Email
  • Picture

Who among us hasn't heard of the term "stem cells"? Medical research using these infinitely small elements of the human body promises miracle cures for terrible illnesses. The media regularly report the remarks of researchers who are enthusiastic about the therapeutic potential of embryonic stem cells.

Yet other researchers raise ethical objections and propose that we focus our energies and funds on researching adult stem cells. What should we think of all this? The Catholic Organization for Life and Family created this brochure for those who wish to know more about this type of research and to better understand the moral dimension of the issue.

Presented in a question-answer format and a simple style accessible to all, this brightly colored document appeals to both youth and adults. It is a useful tool for families, parishes, schools, universities, etc. The reflection offered in this brochure is positive about the advances of science while being nuanced by Christian ethics.

Limited Quantities

1 Pkg of 25 copies

(Please enter the number of packages required below)

$10.00 $2.50
Quantity:

Download Electronic Version:

Download:

Please share our publications with others!

documents-iconCOLF's publications are ideal for families and for distribution in parishes, schools, universities, hospitals, faith-sharing groups, retreats, youth groups, lecture and study groups, local lay organizations, ministry formation programs, and the conferences of national associations. They also make excellent gifts to mark Christmas, Easter, Mothers' and Fathers' Days and special international days or weeks. Copies of COLF publications may be ordered by contacting us at:


EmailThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel: (613) 241-9461 x. 161
Fax: (613) 241-9048

2500 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1H 2J2

 

Shopping Cart

No items in cart

Cellules souches : tous les espoirs sont permis… mais à quel prix ?

dimanche, 01 avril 2007
  • Imprimer
  • E-mail
  • Picture

Qui n'a pas, un jour ou l'autre, entendu parler de cellules souches? La recherche médicale sur ces éléments infiniment petits du corps humain promet des cures miracles à des maladies terribles. Les médias rapportent régulièrement les propos de chercheurs enthousiastes face au potentiel thérapeutique des cellules souches embryonnaires.

D'autres, pourtant, y voient des objections éthiques et proposent plutôt de consacrer nos fonds et nos énergies à la recherche sur les cellules souches adultes. Que penser de tout cela? L'Organisme catholique pour la vie et la famille a conçu cette brochure à l'intention des personnes désireuses d'en savoir davantage sur ce type de recherche et d'en mieux saisir les enjeux moraux.

Rédigé sous forme de questions-réponses, dans un style simple et accessible à tous, ce document très coloré plaira aux jeunes et aux adultes. Il sera utile en famille, en paroisse, à l'école, à l'université, etc. Une réflexion positive sur les avancées de la science – réflexion nuancée par l'éthique chrétienne.

Réduction D'inventaire - Quantités Limitées

1 Paquet de 25 copies

(veuillez indiquer le nombre de paquets requis ci-dessous)

{k2storecart}

Version PDF:

Télécharger:

Partagez nos publications avec vos amis!

documents-iconNos publications sont idéales pour provoquer la réflexion dans des milieux variés : paroisses, écoles, universités, hôpitaux, groupes de partage de la foi, centres de retraite, groupes de jeunes, groupes d'étude, organisations laïques, familles, centres de formation chrétienne et conférences d'associations nationales. Elles font aussi d'excellents cadeaux en des occasions spéciales comme Noël, Pâques, la Fête des mères et la Fête des pères, ainsi que des Journées ou des Semaines thématiques annuelles.


MessagerieCette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. 
Tel: (613) 241-9461 poste 161
Téléc.: (613) 241-9048

2500, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa, Ontario K1H 2J2

 

Shopping Cart